Lost my instrument panel lighting while instruments still working

SST

I was looking forward to boating yesterday and catch a nice sunset. The wind was decreasing and therefore the waves were coming down too. Throw the anchor and enjoy. BUT....

The first problem was the trim. I've been operating my boat since 2008 with the trim gauge working and sometimes not. I can also feel if I trim to much as the prop begins to cavitate. I just hit the trim switch a little bit and readjust. No biggy....ever. For the past two years the trim gauge has been out of service. All by feel. Today, as I'm accelerating and trimming as I come on plane, without any warning of feel, the prop/ rpm jumps from 3000 rpm to 4000 rpm. I tried to trim it back but it wouldn't work. I had to retard the throttle back to neutral and retrim. Repeated this several times. Finally, after several attempts, I got the rpm to 3200 and slowly trimmed until the speedometer reached 30mph which was also in agreement with the GPS. It held. Don't have an explanation.